Adams State honors Exemplary Faculty


Adams State University's Annual Employee Recognition ceremony, April 27, concluded with the announcement of Exemplary Faculty Awards. Dr. Christy Miller, professor of chemistry, and Dr. Tony Weathers, professor of mathematics, were honored for the 2015-16 academic year.

Dr. Tony Weathers (left) and Dr. Christy Miller were honored as Exemplary Faculty.

To qualify for selection, "Exemplary" faculty must earn an exemplary evaluation in teaching effectiveness and at least one other exemplary evaluation in either scholarly/creative activity or service, according to Dr. Frank Novotny, vice president for Academic Affairs. Recommendations were reviewed by the Peer Recognition Committee (PRC), which includes one tenured faculty member from each academic department.

Miller, who was also honored for 15 years of service to the university, earned a B.S. from Adams State in 1992 and her Ph.D. from the University of Arizona in 1998. She recently completed service as president of Adam State's Faculty Senate; this coming year she will chair the Department of Chemistry, Computer Science and Mathematics. The PRC recommended Miller for the award "based on her persistent record of outstanding student evaluation, efficacious role as Faculty Senate President, and readiness to volunteer for department service."

Weathers has taught at Adams State since 2005, having earned a B.S. from Mercer University-Macon in 1991 and an M.S. and Ph.D. from Auburn University in 1993 and 1998, respectively. The PRC noted, "Our recommendation for Dr. Weathers is based on his dedication to constantly refining the craft of teaching with a focus on constant improvement, his work on the Euclid project, and his significant and productive contribution in departmental, university, and community activities."

By Julie Waechter